CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Life on Minchinhampton Common

This afternoon I drove Helena and Jacqueline to visit their old friend Sue, who is very seriously ill, in the home where she is now being looked after. I arranged to pick them up an hour later, and then drove from the village onto nearby Minchinhampton Common.

I parked near to Tom Long's Post, a famous landmark at an ancient crossroads. and strolled amongst the gathered cows who occupy the common from May to October each year as part of the ancient commoner's rights of grazing. In the back of my mind, I was hoping I might hear and even see a skylark or two, as they always seem to be singing there. Today, I couldn't hear any sign of them, as in the background was the sound of a petrol-engined model aircraft being flown a few hundred yards away.

Finally the noise stopped and some cows started following me, whilst they continued chomping and chewing on grass, and occasionally dropping cow pats to add to the aural landscape. Then I heard the sound of a Skylark's song and turning round spotted one landing on the grass near some sedentary cows. I moved steadily closer trying to keep its position in my sights, although its camouflage was very effective. When I finally set it up again, I tried to capture it's flight, but got no sharp images. I then saw a pair, again setting them up as I neared them, before finally following the flight of another Skylark as it flew away from me towards Bisley. I will have to come back when I have more time, so I can sit quietly with a tripod and see what happens. It won't be a hardship, as I love being up there on the common in the clean air with majestic views in all directions. As I sit here at my desk I can see the spot where Tom Lon's Post is, about three miles away.

As I headed back to my car to meet Helena, I noticed a pair of horses, or more accurately ponies, which were grooming each others necks. Like the cows, they must be roaming free on the common, which I had never come across before. A couple of minutes later, I saw this other pony drop to the ground and roll over onto its back to rub it gleefully, or so it seemed to me. This photo is taken just as it was rising up onto its legs again.

In the background is part of an ancient bank or bulwark, which extends for hundreds of yards around the common, usually adjacent to a deep ditch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.