Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Fungus

I was told about this location over a week ago and came here yesterday to see it for myself. The area covered by the fungus is about 60cms x 30cms at the base of a beech tree. I'd never seen this type of fungus before. Looking it up on the net, I think it may be Ganoderma adspersum. I was surprised to find that we have no Mushroom & Fungus ID books on our bookshelves!

Please tell me if you know what it is.

There have been a few other fungi which have been new to me this year so I was very interested in this article from The Telegraph. It says that the length of season for fungi in the UK has increased from 33 days, to 75 days. Amazing!

I have loved looking at lots of fungi shots on blip and wanted one for my own journal. The red squirrel had to win yesterday (and I've edited it, thanks to critique), so I was relieved the fungus was still be here again today. Being on the ground, and beside a path, it could so easily be damaged by deer, dogs, people or vehicles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.