Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

Midland Mills in Bradford

This was taken on my way to work after picking up some more Codeine from Tesco for this monstrous headache!

Interestingly I knew nothing about this building until tonight when I did a bit of research.

Started off with Google Street View and found the name of the building - 'Midlands Mills'. I should have known this as on Street View I saw that the words 'Midland Mills' were built into the iron gates that I was peering through to take this photo.

Wasn't really with it this morning.

It was built in 1871 and is a Grade II listed building, once home to British Mohair Suppliers when Bradford was known as the Wool Capital of the World.

It closed in 2001 and has since been unofficial shelter to the homeless and a home to an unidentified skeleton discovered earlier this year!

There are redevelopment plans to turn them into apartments and offices; which in my opinion can only be a good thing. I think it's tragic that while building such as this lie empty, new soul-less generic buildings continue to rise up and dwarf the architecture of which we should be so proud.

Anyway - that's my blip. Thanks for the good wishes yesterday. I think I'm fending something off at the moment and hope to kill it before a long weekend in the Lake District starting Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.