Hidden Places II

A visit to the bakery after my haircut gave me an excuse to explore the village of Silkstone Common this morning. The autumn colour in the trees led me off down the road with my camera - I found myself in places I'd never been before. Off on a side road, along a footpath by the railway and then through a tunnel to the other side of the line where I came across these cottages which look to be 17th century. I hadn't realised there was anything quite so old in the village. I wonder what else I can find out about them?

My afternoon spent cutting back masses of Pyracantha which has invaded from next door ( sharp and prickly and horrendous). Not only did it involve perching in dodgy places, like the top of the rabbit hutch, I also had to chop the vast amounts into smaller sections so it would go into the recycling bins - thank goodness that Barnsley Council has a green bin recycling scheme. The shrub was beginning to block out all of our light on one side of the house and must have been heading for 10/11 feet tall (3/ 3.5 meters). The problem is that he's planted it all around our perimeter fence - so it ends up being a little like the Forth rail bridge - when you've finished at one end you start again. Though come to think about it I read somewhere, maybe on Blipfoto, that they now have a new kind of paint that lasts longer. I wonder what the equivalent would be for keeping unruly hedges under control!

Well it's summer here again folks, which is fantastic and very welcome. Especially as summer has been very iffy despite the dryness. We managed our first communal beer outside since I think May. It sounds like tomorrow will offer another opportunity so if anyone is passing and wants to join us . Meet from around 5pm.

See you, Wendy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.