It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Is this Dave?

This is a bit of a retrospective Blip as I?ve just been on a wee holiday.
I really love this picture, not because it?s technically brilliant, but because it this chap is the first person I asked to take a pic of for my Blip and it started a really interesting conversation. I was having a mini cycle tour break from Broadbottom to Cambridge and I met this chap when I stopped for a coffee in Buxton.

It?s not often I pay much attention to buskers but wow! Dave (as I believe his name may be) was playing some John Williams type Spanish guitar music and it was amazing in its complexity. I was transfixed! Then he started playing some blues......so much for a quick coffee. When he stopped I went over to say how much I had enjoyed his playing and gave him a few quid! Very unusual for me!!

We chatted about life in general, a bit about music and then about my journey. He said that he used to be in a punk band called The Bodies but it was a bit of a fucked up existence. I did a wee google search when I got home and found this blog:

Is this dave?

From what I could tell the man in the photo is the supposedly deceased The Englishman, Dave Albert. The Blog is a fun read.

Anyway, I set off for Lichfield, where I was staying with Rosemary?s mum for the evening. The ride through the Peak District and into the Midlands went quite smoothly, through pretty villages, along a canal, Burton on Trent at getting outta school time and into Lichfield for about 6pm, It was sunny all day too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.