It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Shopping

Yesterday was one of the toughest I?ve experienced on the bike and I?ve had a few of them! I left Rosemary?s mum?s house about 7:45am and got to Cambridge after midnight. The day started off well, quite sunny, good roads, pretty villages and life couldn?t get much better!

Leicester wasn?t so good as it was very difficult to find my way through but I got there in the end! Then the roads started to get very hilly...... about 1000m of climbing in just over 2 hours. They weren?t steep but just kept coming. I stopped in a pub in a tiny village, filled my camelback and then I was back to it. My route was sending me along a bridal way that wasn?t fit to ride. I tried to circumnavigate it and got lost. Then when I eventually got round it, there was another unridable path! I got lost again. It got dark!!! I found where I was heading and then the cycle path I had chosen to follow was closed! To cut a long story short, I arrived in Cambridge having done 234km, 54 more than planned! I was too tired to eat and fell asleep without showering.

The next day was good! I met Sundari, a little madam of a 3 ½ year old, but adorable all the same and had a wonderful day with her and her mum! (my friend). We went to the market, looked in shops, had a nice lunch, went to the park, went to the pub, picked apples, plums, nuts etc, saw Geoffrey Archer?s house and then walked home! So much for a chilled day!

The pic here is of Suki and Sundari browsing in a lovely Indian influenced shop in Cambridge. I love the colours. The smell of incense was great too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.