Marigold Sky

By MarigoldSky

Modern "art"

I am currently visiting my family back down in Colchester, Essex. I've been living in Scotland for nearly 18 months now, but try to come back to visit my folks every 4 to 6 months.

I've actually not lived in Colchester itself for about 8 or 9 years but was always a frequent visitor as I was still living in Essex until the move north in April 2010. But every time I come back now it seems like so much has changed with every visit. Some are slight changes, some seem more significant changes. New houses are sprouting up all over the place in an already crowded (in my opinion) town.

Dunfermline (the nearest major town to where I live in Scotland) reminds me much like Colchester was 15-20 years ago. New housing schemes etc rapidly eating up all the lush green land and fields that surrounded a picturesque town. I fear Dunfermline will resemble something complete different in the not so distant future, sadly. The similarities are there for me.

Anyway, I popped into town after briefly meeting a friend in Ipswich and was struck on two blips for today. One was the Town Hall clock that looked great with the bright clear blue sky in the background, or this blip of the stairway of a car park which has been 'decorated' with 'friendly graffiti', which actually looks quite tasteful.

The image stairwell depicts a part of Colchester's roman history with soldiers fighting near the castle.

Have to say, I really liked it - a nice touch embracing the young "culture" of graffitti/art with the town's history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.