While on my runs

By waipushrink

Not yet upright

This week was planned for S and me to attend the college meeting in Queenstown, so I had no work booked for the week. As a response to MIL's need for care, and the reason why she had that need, we cancelled the trip, and in theory I had an empty week. Filled today with appointments of one sort or another.

Consequently the return of the internally driven waking mechanism to about 0600, was helpful in getting me up and out on the roads early, and able to get to the office ahead of time. Chose the circuit which takes me past the cafes on Ponsonby and Jervois Roads, before heading to Coxs Bay and then home via a series of parks. A very pleasant course.

This picture is at Coxs Bay when the tide is too low to fill the bay. This solitary yacht (all the rest are in deeper water at the other side of the bay) still lies sideways on the mudflats awaiting sufficient water to refloat it.

The colours may be not right, but I fancy that this boat is like the Scotland rugby side ahead of Saturday's crunch match with England. Tilted over and unable to make progress. If the tide comes in , the yacht will float, and maybe Scotland will win by more than 7 points and put England out. Alternatively, the tide is on the way out, and Scotland will be cast (aside).

My wonderful S will be with her mother for the next three nights and days (after tonight), and I will be with her most of that time. That may mean that I will not be able to watch Scotland fight for World Cup survival; unless I go to the pub at Snells Beach on Saturday evening. Ah.... decisions, decisions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.