Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Postal Excitements!

Sorry I was a little teaseful yesterday! Now, however, as promised, here are two of the postal excitements that have arrived this week!

The black cuddly Ikea rat was addressed to Charlie and Moses, and, as per the instructions on their letter, they have entrusted him to my care because they don't trust themselves not to nibble him away! He lives by my bed, and sometimes crawls in with me during the night! I am informed by the ones who sent him, that his name is Ludwig, and he's VERY fond of music! :-)

The book is the very start of my BA in Modern Languages! In this blip I mentioned my next degree (and explained why I'm starting it now), but didn't give any more information on it. Now is the time to tell!!! I'm starting off with the Open University's only Welsh course - a beginners' course, which will take me up to around GCSE level in the language. I'm really looking forward to it - partly because we holiday in Aberystwyth each year and I'm always desperate to learn the words around me, and partly because I have a lot of Welsh-speaking friends! I can't resist the pull of new languages, and I think this will be great fun!

After the Welsh I plan to focus first on French and then on Spanish. I already speak a fair bit of French, so I'm going to start with the second course along as I don't need the beginners' stuff. I shall then take all the French courses, and then progress to the Spanish ones. I only have a very few words of Spanish, so that will be another brand new language! All very exciting!

I'll still be doing maths though! It'll all keep me busy! It all seems like quite a lot of work, but it's all so fascinating! At school I was told that education was interesting and I should study hard and do well in exams - that was the easy bit - stopping doing so is much more difficult!!!

I'm much less tired today than I was on Tuesday - maybe my body is getting used to the walking already. Maybe it's the warm weather too - I often tell people I'm solar-powered and I think it may be true!

Anyway, today's activities (past and future) include: sorting out my desk & study and finding a place for the Welsh books to live, doing some maths revision, installing the final digibox and sorting out the channels and connections to video recorders etc., doing a basic clean of the rat cage and playing with the boys, mowing the lawns, putting clean dry washing away, feeding the washing machine with the grubby stuff, playing the viola, doing my CELTA homework & some reading, ordering a cheap computer headset which I'll need for my Welsh speaking assignments, dealing with around 200 e-mails, sorting a couple of bank things, and having a bath!

Plans to spend the whole day eating cake and chocolates and watching The Terminator Quadrilogy (which were speculated on when I was somewhat tired last night) have been eschewed in favour of a more active and productive Thursday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.