Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Digital Switchover

Well, another of those BUSY days today!

It started quietly - very quietly, as we had no telly at all this morning so breakfast was silent except for the crunch of Frosties and the meeowing of Pebbles who was after my cereal bowl!

Then to college. It was a warm morning for a brisk walk, and I have to confess to succumbing to a Macdonalds milk shake on the way in! It's not cool to like Macdonalds I'm sure, but I do! At least I didn't have a breakfast muffin!!!

Once at college we had a lesson on teaching reading, different styles of reading and so on, then started working on the nuts and bolts of English grammar - modal verbs, auxiliary verbs, paraphrasis etc, and finally our first bit of observation - watching a videoed model lesson and learning how to critique it and what we should be looking for when we're observing others teaching.

After college I walked back to Scharwenka's house, photographing this poster on the side of a bus shelter en route. I found Scharwenka in the garden, soaking up some sun - he has the sort of skin that doesn't burn and loves sunbathing!

Then it was home to see what had become of "our channels"! On rescanning the digiboxes I discovered that even MORE channels have now arrived - we now have 18 TV channels and 11 radio channels - WOW! We can also get them ALL in the sitting room, which is amazing - for the last 10 years we've had just 3 channels (and channel 4 in the kitchen). I watched Octonauts on CBeebies to celebrate, then saw Neighbours and Home and Away on channel 5, for the first time in over 10 years!

I love the telly - I'm completely unashamed about it - just love it! When I work, I work HARD, but when I'm not working, I love to have telly burbling on - even rubbish telly! :-)

The only other thing I'd REALLY have liked for switchover, was a little "Al" to arrive on the doorstep - he really is the most adorable little creature (he's the chap on the poster)!!!

The other excitement for today came in the post. In fact, it was the second "fun" thing that came in the post this week - I'll tell you all about them another day - they'll make a good blip!!!

Oh, and I remembered to call my brother - it's his birthday today!

Life seems to be going very fast at the moment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.