Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Family Photographs

OK, I confess, here I am on a photography site, and I'm NOT a photographer! In fact, before the interwebs and digital cameras I took just 4 types of photos:

1. Holiday snaps
2. Aeroplanes at airshows
3. A picture of the Wonderspouse and me every six months
4. A picture of each family member to go on top of the telly

Of course, these days I take at least one picture every day, and it's all so much easier and cheaper now that I can just snap away and then put the pictures on the computer, without all that "going to the shop and spending a fortune getting it processed" stuff!

I do, however maintain my 4 original photo types (although we no longer really go on holiday - too few funds, too many animals (including 2 special needs animals)).

Today I finally managed to complete the updating of the family gallery on top of the telly! Hurrah! So here we all are!

It started with just a picture of the Wonderspouse and me, with Tiggy on one side and Felix on the other, but, as you can see, things have moved on somewhat. Athena and Pebbles arrived a few years ago and Athena now takes pride of place in front of us. There are also new photos of Smudge, Dexter, Charlie and Moses added!

Of course, it's all getting a bit crowded up there now (at least we don't have one of those flat modern tellys - goodness knows what we'll do then), but I've made a pro-tem cantilever construction using stiff cardboard and paperweights, which will suffice until I can get my tools out and make a more permanent wooden shelf! I've also used boxes to raise those on the back row to make them a bit more visible! :-)

So, what other news?

Well, I'm definitely tired after yesterday, and realize that it's a VERY good thing that this course has days in between college attendance for a bit of recovery. I sorted out all my CELTA stuff this morning, punching holes and filing handouts from yesterday and so on. I've also started work on the laundry AGAIN (it seems to be never-ending these days), and done some jobs in my study, as well as spending some time tidying the boys' cage and playing with them both!

My final maths assignment arrived back this morning, so I now know my coursework result - I have a pass 2 (sort of equivalent to a 2.1 - although it's not as simple as that because finals level courses count much more towards the class of degree I will eventually get and this isn't finals level), and only missed a pass 1 by ONE MARK!!!! In some ways this is annoying, but it does take the pressure off for the exam a bit - if I'd got a pass 1 for coursework I'd have beaten myself silly revising for the exam!

I've also reminded myself that a degree is a marathon, not a sprint. At this stage in my music degree I certainly wouldn't have been thinking I'd get a first, and the main thing with this course is to have achieved a good grounding for all the finals level pure maths courses I shall be taking over the next few years - getting a sufficient number of pass 1 grades to get a first is for the future!

Of course, I don't HAVE to get a first, but it would be nice to have a matching pair (and eventually trio - when I complete my modern languages degree)!!!

Anyway, I won't get anything at all for anything if I sit burbling away on blipfoto all day. Time to consult the jobs list and see what's next for my attention and energy! Either that, or ignore the jobs list and play my viola instead - more fun methinks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.