Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Blue Sky

So, the day finally dawned. The alarm went off at 6, the lights on the timers came on as programmed, and we were out of the house just before 7. The pre-practised routine worked well, and I arrived at college in good time for the first session.

It was good fun! And so easy being TAUGHT by someone else rather than having to do all the work on my own as I do with my OU courses. We had an introductory session, a tour of the college, a foreign language lesson (Polish, all conducted in Polish, to give us an idea of how our students will feel when we conduct our lessons in English and they don't speak it), a session on introducing vocabulary, recommendations for things to read, and a whole load of admin and so on!

Afterwards I did a few small jobs in town, found the last course book that I needed in Waterstones - AND enjoyed showing my student card and getting a student discount! I then did the 3 and a half mile walk back to Scharwenka's, where I called in briefly to update the Scharwenkas on the morning. Then I drove home and got back at around 4.30, and promptly fell asleep on the sofa.

Supper tastes SUPER DELICIOUS after just one small sandwich and 7 miles walking! Oh, and the blister report - seems to be just one, so the Poundland insoles I bought are good and my feet are getting tougher!!!

And now all that remains is bathtime and bedtime! Tomorrow I have the day at home to do home jobs, reading for my course, and maths revision!

Oh, the picture was one I took on my walk home. The weather was lovely, and this building (part of the University engineering department) looked rather nice against the blue sky I thought. Maybe not the most exciting or relevant picture, but I've been a bit busy today to think about taking photographs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.