Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Thousandth Blip

Backblipped on 25th July 2013

This extremely boring and uneventful blip is actually my thousandth - in terms of the thousandth day since I joined blip, and the thousandth photograph taken.

It will, however, not appear as the thousandth to be uploaded - the events of 2012 meant that I got very behind with blip uploading, so everything is a bit jumbled up as far as uploading goes - and I've picked a rather nicer picture for the thousandth upload!

I recall the day this picture was taken. I was still very ill, and, following a telephone conversation with a GP (not mine) at the surgery the night before, it was arranged that someone would come out to the house to take some blood to see if they could find out what was wrong with me (in the end, I was ill from July 8th until about the end of October, and nobody ever did find out what was wrong).

The GP who came to visit was dreadful. When he arrived I felt ill. When he left I felt ill and was a tearful mess. First off he told me if I was capable of getting to the toilet on my own I was capable of getting to the surgery (I was not), then he told me I was wasting his time and the surgery had far too many patients to be wasting time visiting people like me. He didn't bring a thermometer, used MY torch and a grubby spoon from our kitchen to look in my throat, told me that I must have a sore throat (I didn't), then told me not to make a fuss because I had tonsilitis, and left me with a packet of penicillin.

Following his visit I called the Wonderspouse, who wrote a sternly worded e-mail of complaint to the surgery, and I did eventually receive a phone call from my own GP, then a letter of apology from the doctor concerned.

However, I shall think very hard about calling a doctor when I'm ill, and so traumatized was I by the whole thing I shall never again have a home visit when I'm on my own at home. I didn't have tonsilitis either, neither did I ever take any of the penicillin.

It was really a day to forget, not one to mark with a special blipday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.