Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Another Viola!

Here is part of the viola that I'm viola-sitting for a friend (see last Friday's blip)! I got it out this morning and had a little tinker with it. I tuned it up to pitch and established that it's staying (approximately) at pitch, except for peg slippage, which means that getting it into reasonable playing condition shouldn't be a problem since there isn't a problem with the tail gut or set up etc etc.

I played through a few bits and pieces on it, and have now ordered it some new pegs, since the ones it has are a bit decrepit, and a new adjuster (you may notice that the one on the C-string is missing a bit) and will do a bit more work on it before playing it for a while to see exactly what sort of instrument it settles into being!

I haven't had two violas in the house for a while. I do own another viola though, which is currently in the custody of my friend Diffle - I have her old violin in exchange (this was a trade made in the days before I had my own violin).

The viola that Diffle currently has was my first "own" viola (as opposed to borrowed from the local music centre), and was the one I first took up the stairs of the Royal Academy of Music when I started having lessons there! I was soon told I needed a higher quality instrument, and the one I play on these days was made for me while I was at College. It's beautiful!

Other than that, it's been a very busy "doing jobs" kind of a day. I've started to go through my various mailboxes and deal with some of the zillion or so messages that are there, I've made a few telephone calls, sent a few e-mails, sorted out some of the accumulated videos downstairs, snuggled Dex, and been to see my GP for a brief "update" appointment.

I suspect the rest of the day will be more of the same!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.