Yet another Tui

This must be the 6th or 7th time I've blipped a tui. I've blipped them on flaxes, and two different types of blossom trees, but this time he's on a kowhai tree.

I have a friend visiting from Australia (I'm not holding her move to the darkside against her), and she, Kiwilizzie and I went down to the Rock Snot Cafe for dinner tonight. There were lots and lots of birds about; wood pigeons, bellbirds, tuis, sparrows, chaffinches, ducks, blackbirds, thrushes and a hawk (some of which can be seen in my blipfolio). I managed to get photos of all of them but my favourite is this tui with the top of his beak covered in pollen - best seen in large to see the pollen

There were a number of interesting scraps going on - mating season is always pretty hectic. Sadly I didn't manage to capture any of the drama, but I definitely intend to get back down there over the next week to see what I can get on camera - and next time I will actually take my big lens with me! Not realising there would be birdlife about, I'd left it at home tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.