Dunbeacon National School

Torrential rain in the night with floods in various places. Water from the mountains is just gushing into the sea. The mist and murk cleared briefly but the air is still like soup.  However, it's my day off and I've been snooping! Headed off for Schull for a haircut but got seriously sidetracked by a glimpse of a slightly ajar door to an old and now derelict National School. I was brave and ventured in. It is a tiny little building dating from 1902- originally one biggish room and a small one, now severely dilapidated. The colours inside though were amazing. The tongue and groove which once covered all the walls was pea green but it was this fireplace that really caught my eye. It was very dark inside and I'm delighted how the colours and textures have emerged. If you'd like to see a bit more of the school take a peek here.. Children must have originally walked for miles t get to it for there arent many buildings around and no village to speak of.

Hair cut and a little colour enhancement added - for once I quite like it, and I got a free and very relaxing head massage while she was waiting for the conditioner to take effect!

We're off to see Jane Eyre now so will have to catch up later. Happy weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.