Minaret Peaks

After a pretty big day yesterday I woke up at 7.30am, then decided to sleep for another 30 minutes before heading up the mountain.

At 10am I woke up again, Bugger, such a nice day.

So a quick breakfast and then up the hill to find out about the biking. Parked where the hotel people said, but when I talked to a local biker he pointed me in the right direction. Back in the car and up the Panorama Gondola base at Mammoth Mountain.

Bike sorted, pass sorted, on the trail. As the lift queue pre-lunc was pretty busy, I decided to ride the village trials, and then take the shuttle back up the hill. Sadly, I wasn?t feeling that ?bike fit? and the trials weren?t that great. Way too easy. And when I decided find something more challenging, I took a good spill.

So I took a breather and regrouped, and looked at full face helmets, I understand why they are so good now (as I nearly ground my nose into the dust ;-)

And by then, 1.30, the lift queue had reduced, a lot, to just around 10 minutes. So I started looping the lift. And then the fun began. Break through was a great trail, and then I mixed it up with an more advanced trail, Seven Bridges. Lots of fun and good downhill riding.

Last lift ride at just after 4 and the guys I rode with recommended a ride out wide, down a trail called Beach Cruiser. More cross country riding with some great corners. Fab, finished just on 5.

Then I thought I?d explore the valley (by car) in which the Devils Postpile is located, which included a 45 minute walk there and back. Fabulous.

And the deciding I?d done enough for the day, a visit to the local supermarket to pick up some more of the absolutely fabulous local beer, and then home to collapse in the hotel

Whew. Bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.