While on my runs

By waipushrink

Grey heron on a grey morning

Yesterday evening I headed north to Snells Beach to help S who is spending a few days with her mother, who is now too frail to be alone for very much time. Woke to a windy (note the white tips on the waves in very shallow water) and almost wet morning, and headed off down to the Snells Beach waterfront and just as I got there I spied three common herons in the pools left on the mudflats.

As I was in a new pair of road shoes, I was very reluctant to go beyond the hard sand and when I did go a little closer than I was for this, the herons ran further out anyway. This was maximum zoom on the wee compact I carry while on my runs, and although I have brought it up a bit by cropping, the heron is still more of a silhouette than anything else.

Nevertheless I quite like this as the whole day was grey, especially after Samoa (expectedly but I believe undeservedly) lost to South Africa on Friday night. Made even more grey by Scotland losing on Saturday night.

This was backblipped on Sunday after returning (on my own) to the apartment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.