While on my runs

By waipushrink

Welcome the day

Another predawn waking and out on the road to see the sun come up. This morning there was so little cloud that the sun quite quickly became too bright to get a direct shot of it.

My run took my through Karangahape Road, across Grafton Bridge to the Auckland Domain. I used trees and distant buildings to get a couple or so photographs of the sky before continuing into the Domain where I followed Football Road around to the Auckland War Memorial Museum.

This was the scene I was able to concoct by remaining at a lower level than the hillock on which the Museum sits, and get just enough of the sun above the top of the hill to produce the great scattering of light seen here. I kept enough light in to create a looming dark presence of the Museum, and the Cenotaph on the other side of the image. Yet not so much light that it dulled too much the colours of the sky.

I liked this one enough to reject some marvellous sunsets I got this evening; but they are more repetitious than this image of being able to welcome the day with a run, as did ReliantRobin a couple of days ago. This is our reward for an early start to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.