Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Chicken Sandwiches

I only took this one photo today - of a pile of chicken sandwiches that my parents-in-law had prepared for us for lunch today. They were served with mushroom soup, salad, crispy bacon bits, crisps, cheese, biscuits, and trifle for afters! Yummy!

Today we got up a bit later than usual and went to Devon for the day to visit MiL and FiL before MiL starts her next round of chemo on Thursday and then a long stretch of daily radiotherapy from Monday onwards. Today was the best day to go as far as chemo side effects was concerned and it was also good to get another visit in before radio starts and while we're both clear of any winter colds and bugs. MiL has also been told not to visit her GP surgery or go to the dentist since her immune system will be compromised by the chemo.

Both journeys, there and back, were smooth, and I treated myself to a latte from a service station about half way home in order to keep myself alert for the last part of the trip home - fortunately I'm happy behind the wheel, since the whole trip involves about 6 hours driving!

After lunch we sat and chatted to MiL and FiL, and they seemed very pleased to have our company. MiL also gave me a big snuggly cardigan that she'd knitted for herself but had turned out too big - since I'm pretty sizeable it was a perfect fit on me and will be fabulous when the weather turns cold!

Now we're home, curled up on the sofas with the cats, and will soon head bedwards, ready to get up for work and college tomorrow!

Busy times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.