Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Draining Doormat

A simple mistake perhaps? Doormat? Cat litter box? Who can tell the difference?

Apparently SOMEBODY can't (Smudge is suspected - she's had one or two little accidents before on mats)!

Anyway, it was wet when we went downstairs this morning and the smell was instantly recognizable. I rinsed it under the shower, but that wasn't sufficient, so the doormat had a full-scale bath today - rubber duck, glass of wine, book, the works! (well, not REALLY all that stuff, but it did have a good soaking)!

Anyway, it is now beautifully clean, and draining over the bath before being hung somewhere to dry, and then eventually replaced by the door!

It's a doormat I bought in a hardware store in the back streets of Istanbul! Others may go there and just look at historical whatnots - but I like to go into the "real" shops where real people buy their stuff too! I believe the text says "Thanks" in Turkish. This morning the "thanks" was a rather sarcastic one!

In other news, we've had a quiet day here. I'm tired after the weekend, and the Wonderspouse has spouseflu (which is like manflu, but less manly)!

The day has largely been spent sleeping and watching TV (a few videos and some Commonwealth Games)!


Many apologies for my abysmal blip commenting of late. Things are a bit busy out in the real world at the moment and I don't have so much time to devote to online things. I hope, once I've got through the massive jobs list, that things will calm down and become a bit steadier and I'll get back into a commenting routine. Meanwhile, I am still looking at lots of your pics!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.