Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Oh, those eyes!

Sorry, but I just have to blip another titmouse today. I worked in the office this morning and then took the afternoon off to wash windows and do some fall outdoor chores. The day was perfect, bright and sunny and mid-60's. Doesn't get much better than that!

I am still at war with the raccoon and have been taking the bird feeders inside every night. However, the crafty little thing still got on the deck one night and knocked over a bunch of pots - probably pissed that there was no birdseed! Anyway, I went to the Lowe's in town today and bought some "natural" raccoon repellant. Probably a waste of $15, but worth a try. It seems to be primarly black and hot peppers so it is not harmful, just unpleasant smelling to the critters. It will also discourage the neighbor's cats who have decided that our deck is fertile hunting grounds. So, we'll see if it does anything. I guess I will leave one feeder up tonight as a test.

I sat on the deck for a bit late this afternoon and watched the birds come and go. While I was sitting there, this particular titmouse flew over at sat on the table about 5 feet from me, looking at me in the most quizzical way. Never noticed that their eyes are actually brown!

Anyway, hope you enjoy him - he's looking at you, you know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.