Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Sign of the Times

I'd begun watching the third of the Harry Potter films in Carl's Kino last night, and he and I took that up this morning and watched the rest of it. I enjoyed it, I must say, especially the many touches of humour which popped up from time to time.

Back home again in the afternoon I was determined not to spend the day totally lazily, so got my act together sufficiently to head out for a walk. The rain had eased off, though the wind was most definitely still there, but I actually quite enjoyed my little ramble.

I stopped off at a shop near the Artane roundabout to get a bottle of orange to slake my thirst, which is when I noticed this rather sad looking bit of signage. Despite the blanking out of the pharmacy's name, it's actually still in business, and I'd got my bottle of orange in the Spar shop, so I've no idea why this is made to look as if everything's closed down. It certainly doesn't give a good impression of the state of affairs, even though it neatly sums up the generally depressed state of the economy.

TV and music filled the evening, and then it was off to bed to take down Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban to compare the original with the film version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.