Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

Another photo from the archives

Found a few more childhood photos and this one of me at 8 years old made me laugh - partly because of the ribbon and partly because of the missing front tooth.

I'd managed to knock the whole tooth and root out a year or so before this photo, I hadn't even had the tooth very long. The least adventurous child in the world (always had my nose in a book, I didn't 'do stuff' very often!) - for some reason I decided to climb up a slide on the slidey part. Of course I slipped, landed on my face and lost my tooth as well as buckets of blood. Have a vague memory of running home crying and there started my phobia of dentists. I had to have a plate with a hook to move the other tooth over a bit and then the idea was to crown it when I was a bit older although that never happened in the end. I think my mum was also traumatised by having to pin me down to force me to wear the horrible plate thing, I hated it!

The ribbons on the other hand, I loved! I had lots of hair and usually had it quite long (although I think my mum must have cut it herself before this photo, doesn't look very straight!) so it was usually tied up to keep it tidy. Must have had at least 30 different ribbons, lots of colours and patterns, wonder what happened to them all?

This blip brought to you in conjunction with October Origins, a great idea from Life of Pontycyclops - more details here.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.