Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yikes

A beautiful day in New Jersey, sun shining, temps going up to 79 ... and bears in our yard! I had been outside working in the yard for about an hour when I looked up and this is the sight that greeted me. I slowly backed up and went onto our deck (very hear the door) and fired off some fast shots of Mama and her cubs. Then I yelled very loudly and they went off into the woods. They were not as concerned by me as I would have liked them to be - the best bear is a scared bear. Also not happy that we have a sow with cubs as they can be very dangerous if they feel threatened. So, yikes.

On the upside, it's a great blip, isn't it? I posted a few other shots on Flickr if you'd like to have a peek...

Mana and Her Cubs

Mom hearding cubs into the woods

Mom taking one last look

Although it is hard to see here, there are four cubs, most unusual to have a brood this big. I would estimate that these were born last winter based on their size.

Happy Saturday, Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.