The Great Australian Pumpkin Roll

This was the reason we went to the country for the weekend. The Goomeri Pumpking Festival. The photo is a world record breaking pumpkin roll. 170 kids and over 300 adults rolling their pumpkins down a hill.

The festival was great even though I picked up a case of food poisoning form our dinner last night. Like I said yesterday, if you are in Murgon Queensland, don't eat at the RSL. I ordered a reef and beef. Nearly 2 hours later we got our meals and I could tell straight away that my steak had been cooked from frozen. It was awful. There wasn't much to do but eat it though. By that time we couldn't go anywhere else.

So today I spent most of my time walking around nursing severe tummy cramps. Then a 3 hour drive home. My friend Brad drove so that made things a bit easier.

I highly recommend the Goomeri Pumkin Festival. There were thousands of people there and I reckon the average age was about 65. Lots of Grey Nomads. The show grounds were both packed with expensive campervans and caravans with the occasional tent thrown in.

Now for an early night. I didn't get much sleep last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.