Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The second dreich day

Another grey, misty, wet and windy day out at Bewcastle. Today we walked from Bewcastle to Haltwhistle, 14 miles. We hoped that the weather would improve and it did for a short time.................

Our party of 25 remained very cheerful. We had our coffee in a barn, amongst tractors and with the remains of sheep shearing on the floor. Lunch was at Birdoswald Roman Fort where we received a warm welcome from our friend, Angela, who works there.

This image of M's feet was taken during the lunch break. She always changes her socks at lunchtime. I'm not sure I would have been able to get my feet dry enough to make the change!

We celebrated H's birthday today with refreshments at the pub, a birthday cake and a few drinks. Lots of people stayed so it was a good party.

I walked nearly 30 miles over the weekend, so tomorrow I have a day off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.