just allan

By allan

Cyclocross Sam

The winter fun bike by Tyninghame Bay, East Lothian. I popped a set of Schwalbe Smart Sams on the Pomp so I could do exactly this - batter round the woods for half an hour, shaking the fillings from my teeth and generally having a damned good time. Worked a treat.

I love this little bike, which I originally got about 5 years ago. It's a true singlespeed with 120mm rear spacing so you can't put gears on it (well, you can and I did but you oughtn't and that's another story). This build is just a blast and it'll be getting very muddy throughout the season.
(Bike nerdery: tyres 700x35, gearing singlespeed 48x20).

This by the way is the bay at high tide - Here's the same place at low tide.

Large.

I worked at home on the old Mac since I can't access work from the Linux box and my work laptop is knackered. The screen I have is good if a bit small so I decided to try editing my photo on the Mac too. Gimp for Mac worked a treat - a wee bit slow compared to the Linux box but fine.

Also unusual today is the camera - I used the little Nikon L23 which I originally bought for Duncan, since I didn't want to rattle round the woods with the D40. That worked out fine, although I forgot it tends to over-expose so thanks Gimp for curves and things.

One week til our London trip and everyone's getting excited!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.