What eye see

By francistaylor

The Spirit Of London: David O'Connell.

All I can say is WOW! Today was an amazing day!

I have talked about David in my journal previously and tonight was the night that I experienced his biggest achievement to date. He was awarded 'The Spirit Of London Award' for achievement through music at The Royal Albert Hall.

David was picked up from his home address and chauffer driven to the venue in the early afternoon. Upon arrival, he was shown inside and taken to his table where he would sit and eat dinner amongst various celebrities including Adam Deacon, Jamie and Harry Rednapp, Stacy Solomon, Richard Taylor (father of Damilola Taylor), Killa Kela, Paul Gbegbaje, Alexa Goddard, Bluey Robinson, Beverley Knight, DJ Fresh, Diversity, Tinchy Stryder, Eddie Kadi and many more. After dinner, the award ceremony started....

It was an extrememly nervous time for us all throughout the ceremony as we all know how massive this would be for David if he won his category. It was already a huge achievement for him to have made the shortlist.

There were 3 nominees in his category, each one had a short video interview shown on the big screen before Kiss 100's DJ Shorty Blitz and Neave (I think thats how you spell it!) announced the winner. David's name was read out! We went bonkers! He made his way up to the stage to collect the award and speak. I even got a Thank you which I was truly touched by. Words cannot describe how proud My colleague Gary and I are right now! David then was taken away and interviewed by various press workers including The Sun newspaper.

As we were leaving the venue, David was approached a number of times by people in the music industry handing him business cards left, right and centre. I can't even begin to imagine what this experience is going to do for his ego and confidence, which is what the work Gary and I do is all about.

Respect and Thanks to Gary Weston for nominating David for this amazing award. Well done David for all of your hard work and always staying positive. I'm very proud to have worked with you.

The Sky is the limit!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.