Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Fallen Lights

You know how it is, you're walking up the street and you see the pedestrian traffic lights are out of action. You wonder what happened, then you look at the other side of the road, and see that some sort of disaster has befallen the traffic lights.

And you think: "that'll make a good blip"!!!

So then you cross the road via the now defunct crossing, and stand in the bus lane taking photos, trying not to get squashed by a bus while you're about it! This is the one where I got up close and personal, but you can see a wider view of the fallen lights here!

And so today was the last of the seriously busy last-minute sort of days (well, I have a very short breather now anyway). I got the bus into college again, and was pretty much first into the department - lights were still off and so on. I finished my lesson plan on my trusty netbook, then printed it off, whizzed down to reprographics to get handouts and overhead slides made, and was then waiting calmly when the lesson started.

I was the last half hour of a 2 hour lesson, and it went fairly well I think. It really helps that I'm used to being in a classroom, even though adults are very different from kids. I still made a few mistakes, and have some more work to do, but I definitely did better than last week.

Then we went through the stuff for Friday - I'm teaching again - grammar and tenses this time, so I'm going to have to do quite a lot of preparation for that. And then I went back to Scharwenka's - first via Waterstones, where I bought myself an "English Learner's Dictionary", which I've felt like I really need for a while now and which will be seriously helpful in lesson preparation, and then via the fallen traffic light!

Scharwenka & Mrs Scharwenka were having soup for lunch and it smelled yummy, so I stayed for soup, cheese, and a toffee roulade - delicious. I'm not worrying about eating this week - I can't be so busy and so tired and constantly hungry the whole time - back to discipline next week - everyone needs to relax sometimes, and with everything else that's going on, something had to give.

Then home, via the hardware store in our local town (to get rat treats for the boys), spent some time with the cats, and some with the rats. Bag upstairs, start on the hammock mending, then collect the Wonderspouse.

I now have a cup of tea waiting for me, and then it's a good night of telly - Waterloo Road, Dinosaurs, and Tracey Emin on Who do you think you are?

And, for the first time in I don't know how long, I can just sit and watch it, and not think that I should be doing something else - i.e. working!!!

Apologies for the extremely sporadic commenting recently - life's been a tad on the busy side. I'm hoping I'll manage to leave a few more comments as things settle down again after this massively busy phase. Thanks so much for all yours - and do be assured, I'm still looking at all your pics, even when I don't have time to write anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.