earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Into the Clag

First, I would like to thank everyone who took the time to respond with their own thoughts on yesterday's Self-reflections. There were some beautiful words spoken in reply, and some interesting observations. I will respond to everybody in time, although it may not be this evening because I've had to work late again. Things keep cropping up to detain me at the office. It's very annoying right now!

So ... another day, and yet more low claggy cloud and continuous steady drizzle. It's now barely stopped in over 4 days. Indeed, today was the 5th consecutive day I've taken a picture in the rain or drizzle! This wasn't the most arty photograph I took, but I'm posting it because I think it best captures the mood of the day and of the season, and of my wonderful run in the rain this morning. Not much time to mess around so this is good enough for today! The bracken right now is to be found in every possible hue, all the way from bright green to dark brown. It really is quite beautiful when it's all turning colour at different rates like this.

Later in the run I crossed Backstone Beck at the same point where I took yesterday's blip. Quite remarkably, the same vortex of bubbles was still in the same place, still whirling around in the current, just as it was yesterday. I could watch the bubbles grow, pop, and then instantaneously be replaced by others. I could watch bubbles detach and then others attach back on as it circled around in its little pool, fed by an overflow from the stream. It was constantly recycling its constituent parts, but always retaining its general form. Not too different from us really!

Finally, after quite a bit of badgering from me to get off his lazy young arse, No.2 son has started blipping. I told him I'd post a link if he put a bit of effort into it. Well, he did, and I'm impressed, so if you have time take a look at Showdown. I'm rather proud of him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.