Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Morning Sun

First off, a little note to say I've backblipped for yesterday!

So, having finally got to bed at around 11.30 last night, the alarm went off before 6 this morning and I opened the curtains to a completely black scene outside.

Then it was off to college, and I took a bus from Scharwenka's into town to save time. I was first into the department AGAIN, and was sitting typing my lesson plan by just after 8.00. The only other people who were barking enough to be in one of Oxford's shopping centres at that time in the morning were those in a queue outside an O2 phone shop - probably there was some new phone or gizzmo that they all wanted!

However I had neither the time nor the money for new phones, so went to the rather less glamorous task of making lesson plans, overhead transparencies, and handouts for an "Intermediate Level" English lesson! Thanks to the wonderful people in reprographics, all was done on time! Hurrah!

Then followed observation, teaching, observation. I think my lesson went OK, which was good!

Then I walked back to Scharwenka's house, where we had lunch, then spent the afternoon discussing computery stuff, catching up on the week, and eventually had tea.

I'd taken two of the special cakes to Scharwenka's and he, Mrs Scharwenka and I shared the two of them with our tea. The Scharwenkas REALLY enjoyed theirs and agreed with me that The Baking Bird is indeed a fabulous cake maker! :-)

Then it was home via Sainsbury's for the shopping. And now, finally, I can stop for an evening. No teaching tomorrow. No exam tomorrow. No essay to hand in tomorrow. Just a night to chill out and drink something white and cold that comes out of a bottle in the fridge!

I don't actually think I've had a week this busy with so many achievements for well over 3 years now - probably longer. Life seems to have gone from almost stop to 100mph in the space of just a few months!

Phew!

*breathes*

Oh crumbs, forgot about the photo again - I took it on the way into college this morning - this bridge leads over a small picturesque stream into our main college building. The sun was just doing its morning thing when I arrived!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.