Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

A Bower Quiet

"A thing of beauty is a joy for ever: Its loveliness increases; it will never pass into nothingness; but still will keep a bower quiet for us, and a sleep full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing..."

- John Keats


I've seen this Satin Bower Bird around before - though I knew not what it was; I just kept seeing this flash of beautiful blue-black disappearing into the trees - and today, just as I was going outside to mow the lawn (I couldn't do so, due to mower failure, but that's another story), I saw it sitting on the fence. Because I was going outside, even though I planned to mow the lawn, I was carrying my camera, so I was able to get quite a few shots as it posed most accommodatingly for me for a few minutes. 8)

I was utterly captivated by its brilliant blue eyes, and the lovely blue in its black plumage. In the end the photo I've chosen to blip is the one that best shows off the blue in the feathers; I also love the legs clutching on to the fence.

However, I almost went with this photo of him peeking out of the foliage - he seemed very much a dinosaur in it. ;-)

I also spied an Eastern Spinebill and managed a few shots - though my manual focus left something to be desired....

Lumix DMC-G10 : f/5.60 : 1/125" : 200mm : ISO 400

Large version here.

Uploaded with Blipfoto iPhone app.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.