Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

"Esteemed" : Glasgow University Chapel

I decided to make an escape from the building site, and have a cultural day in town. First stop Merchant City Cameras, and treated myself to a couple of new filters ... I deserve it. Wait and see, once I manage to post a result.

Next, Street Level Photoworks at Trongate 103. Not sure what I thought about "The Obsidian Isle" show, but I did like Keith Ingham's "Physical Graffiti" images in the foyer (on until 29 October).

A wee shuggle on the underground over to the West End, to the Esteemed Institution. Mags wasnae in, so no Blipmeet. I did however spend the afternoon wandering around my alma mater. So many happy memories of my years here, I really should come more often.

First the Hunterian Museum, then the Quadrangles. Spent some time in the Chapel, trying narrow depth of field shots on wooden sculptures amongst the choir stalls. I often attended the early service here, before heading up the stone stairs next door to a freezing cold 9am philosophy lecture. The room was in one of the turrets, semi-circles of hard wooden seats, so you couldn't fall asleep even if you tried.

Then, across the road to the Hunterian Art Gallery. I was taken with the exhibition "Aspects of Scottish Art 1860-1910". I particularly liked Samuel Bough's "Summer Day on Iona 1871", the light was amazing. There is also a small display "The Art of the Poster", so I got my CRM fix. Finished off browsing those wonderful Whistler women, then headed back along Ashton Lane and my journey home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.