Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Waterloo Village, Byram, New Jersey

The sun was shining and the temps were brisk, so it seemed like a good day to visit historic Waterloo Village in Byram, NJ. It's only about 15 minutes' drive from where I live, but I haven't been in several years. Silly me. It's a beautiful place. Occasionally some of the buildings are open to the public, but usually is is deserted except for hikers and photographers. Some of the buildings have been restored, while others are quite neglected. It is a bit of history, certainly.

I chose this particular photo because I just like it. It is the old grist mill, built in 1760. I posted some other photos from today's Waterloo visit on my Flickr if you'd care to have a look. If the weather is nice tomorrow, I think I'll go back and hike around the canal a bit.

Here is a bit of history if you're interested:
"The village of Waterloo had its most active period with the arrival of the Morris Canal in 1831. With a canal lock and inclined plane located here, Waterloo Village became a small inland port on the cross-state trip from the Delaware River to the Hudson River. Today, Waterloo Village is the only place on the East Coast where both a canal lock and the remains of an inclined plane can be seen along with the town that grew up around them.
The inclined plane, an engineering wonder, carried canal boats over hills by a system of railroad tracks and cables, overcoming extreme changes in elevation. Once the railroads were built, however, their speed and efficiency made the canal obsolete."

Hope you're all having a great weekend! And, thanks for all the nice comments on yesterday's late-season bee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.