Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Bees Knees

It was a blustery day today, definitely more than just a nip of fall in the air. I made it out for about a half hour before the cold and wind drove me back home. While I was out at Twin Lakes I happened across two swans and was able to creep through the underbrush close enough to get off a few shots before they paddled out of range, making their strange noises as they went. I took a few quick snaps of one of my favorite buildings over there, an old barn from days gone by.

When I got home, I took a stroll around our back yard into the edge of the woods and when I came back, I happened to see the most enormous bee on the butterfly bush. It is so cold that the poor thing is practically comatose so I was able to get within 4 inches to take some shots. I even brushed my finger against his soft back which he didn't much like - he arched one leg around to tap me as if to say, "too close, madame!" The blossom was conveniently hanging over a terra cotta pot which gave this the most beautiful background color. I used one of my cheapo macro rings for this, no touching up required.

And, hey, it's Friday! That's the bee's knees for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.