Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mr. Seed Head

I am attempting to break my endless stream of bird pictures .. at least for a day! This little guy is made entirely of edible seeds, starting with the dried head of a sunflower. The ears are thistle, the eyes are sunflowers, the smile is hot pepper - all stuff that birds will eat. The "artist" is a woman named Polly and this particular model is called "Berenice". My parents picked this up at the Beaverton market in Portland last week before they left and sent it to me. So far, the birds are ignoring it, but my guess is that either the chickadees or the nuthatches will soon investigate.

Lest you think that I've lost my bird obsession, I did take a few shots today (few being a relative term...)

Nuthatch close up

Mrs. House Finch

...and of course, the greedy blue jay

Hey, did anyone besides me notice ... tomorrow is Friday!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.