Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...at last...

I had to do it. I had to blip fall foliage. Couldn't stop myself, really. Landscapes aren't my "thing" in terms of doing them well, but this one practically took itself.

I met up with the Audubon group for a nature hike this morning and when I arrived at the lake, this is the sight that greeted me. The thick fog was starting to burn off and the fall leaves were perfectly reflected on the water. I hurriedly took 4 shots of the lake and then several more of dewy spider webs, strung from the branches like holiday lights and rejoined the group.

I saw my first ever Eastern Towhee, a large sparrow that is not resident in our area, but a seasonal migrant. We also saw several red tailed hawksking their lazy loops through the sky. And hundreds of Canada Geese gathering in big noisy flocks on the lakes. Have you ever watched geese coming in for a landing? It is quite amazing to see how they seem to almost tumble from the sky, as if tossed. If you look closely, you can see that some of them are actually upside down! I am going to try to get back tomorrow with a tripod in hopes of getting some better shots of this.

My mother in law arrives tomorrow evening, so I am trying to get things ready for her visit. She has Alzheimers which is a heartbreaking disease, one that slowly robs the person of their essence. I think this may be her last trip up here to visit so I want to make it special for her. Commenting over the next few weeks may be sporadic, as I will do so when she is napping. Blips will most likely be confined to the backyard birds and critters, who always provide lots of entertainment. I think my MIL will enjoy watching them with me.

We are off to have Thai tonight with our friends who own the Good Hand Farm - haven't gotten together with them for dinner in ages, so looking forward to it.

Thank you all so very much for sending my water soaked berries to the spotlight page - that was a lovely surprise when I went on Blip this afternoon. You all rock!

Happy Saturday!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.