Rule #88....

------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Rule #88: Don't accidentally use your lock to |
| chain someone else's bike to the bike rack....
|
------------------------------------------------------------------------

How often do you reckon this sort of thing can actually happen to any one person? I got ready to attack the 13 mile home run tonight, got down to my bike and lo and behold, the person that parked their bike on the other side of the rack from me completely missed their bike and just chained my bike to the rack instead.

What to do? The premises guy that walked by suggested that security could come out with some bolt cutters. They did have an email list of everyone that cycles to work to which an email had been sent out but I went for more direct action!

Got a piece of paper from reception and wrote a note informing the owner of the lock and unlocked bike that I had to get home and was taking their bike to return it in the morning. They were free to take my bike and likewise bring it back in the morning. Left my name and phone number and headed on my way.

Got the phone call a couple of hours later. That'll be a lesson he'll not forget easy.

---------------------------------------------------

I seem to be summoning my inner paleontologist recently. All the rocks that Ewan insists on me carrying back for Mummy, I clean up looking for wee uniform fossilised remains. I just love the fact that the rock was once some sort of more granular substance and in it's present form is probably many thousands of times older than the human race as we know it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.