Barking

By Barking

Sunset serenity

I felt the need after work to get out and go see something beautiful. I went to the local beach at Woodend (I've never been there before). It was serene, quiet, tranquil, etc. I was the only person there. However, the light was flat and just plain uninspiring.

I pootled off down the 'motorway' in the direction of home. The sky looked like it was going to do something fantabulous. A quick change of plan took me down by the River Waimakariri (meaning cold water in Maori), where I sat on a log for ten minutes or so and watched the sky perform her own special light show, just for me. No wind, not too cold. Just me, the river and the sunset.

Then I felt a bit creeped out as I thought about how isolated I was and that I wasn't far from where the body of a fifteen-year-old girl was dumped a few months back. I returned to the car rather faster than I had left it and headed for home. So many of my Kiwi female friends don't think that way. I wonder if it's my British upbringing.

Anyhoo, it made me feel a bit better, the sunset that is, not the creepiness, and now I'm back at home listening to Canterbury killing things on his X-Box.

Ah, the serenity of it all.

Shutting up now.

Edit: Once he'd finished killing, Canterbury cooked me a lovely meal of Posh bangers and mash. Yum.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Greeny perfection

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.