Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Voting Day

I did my voting duty around 10:00 am and cast my vote in the Presidential election and the two Constitutional referenda. The polling station was quiet enough, though there was at least a constant trickle of voters both coming and going.

It's only been over the past few days that there's been anything about the referenda, despite their being of some significance. By contrast, the Presidential campaign has been dirty and quite vitriolic, with media coverage especially quite disgraceful in its gutter-press approach. It's fourteen years now since we've gone to the polls to elect a President (Mary McAleese was returned for a second term unopposed), and I don't recall anything then as nasty as what happened this time round.

We should know some time on Saturday who the next President will be. My money's on Michael D Higgins, even though I didn't vote for him. Maybe if he got a haircut and somebody taught him how to knot his tie - maybe then he might be a presentable incumbent.

I had a selection of stuff in the camera, ranging from election posters to signs for polling stations and a close-up of my voting card, but then suddenly I remembered this warning notice which I'd spotted on the Bull Wall earlier in the week, thought it was oddly appropriate, and went back there to blip it.

I've back-blipped to fill the nasty gap which had developed:

Happy Birthday Franz
Wet and miserable
Stay focused
Rusted @ Dollymount
Please knock

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.