[Very] Low Bridge

At last, the lethargy of the last few days seems to have passed.

I took a notion and left the house early, walked to Killester and got the DART to Grand Canal Dock with the intention of walking around the general area of the southside Docklands. Since my Bray mate Dave works in the area I decided to phone him and see if he was available to meet for coffee. He was, and we had a cup in his staff restaurant. It was a really pleasant encounter, and set me up for a highly enjoyable afternoon.

It was just around the corner after leaving Dave that I stopped to blip this really, really low bridge. The warning sign gives its central clearance as just 2.36m (7'8" for the non-metrically inclined). It's just a little bit scary, to be honest, and I wasn't at all surprised to pedestrians who passed under it sticking strictly to the centre of the road. I hadn't expected this from the beginning of what proved to be a long wander to end up as today's blip, but that's the way it's ended up. I was thinking of this as an alternative, but couldn't resist the tug of this sunshine-and-shadows image instead.

I walked the feet off myself, around Grand Canal Square to begin with, then on to the South Quays and eastwards as far as I could go, then through Ringsend and across the East Link bridge to The Point. I went on the Dublin Wheel, but it had got cloudy by this stage and conditions weren't the best for blipping. From there I checked out the new Gibson Hotel and treated myself to a Bulmers in its 3rd Floor bar. The Luas back to Busáras and bus back home finished off a really, really good afternoon.

Back home I relaxed with a bit of reading and some TV and some music.

The general lethargy of the past few days and the ongoing unreliability of my broadband connection have left me with a lot of catching up to do, so I've only now (on Thursday) back-blipped and filled the nasty gap which had developed:

Friday: Fame?
Saturday: Ups and Downs
Sunday: Looking down
Monday: New technology
Tuesday: Locked

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.