'We are what we do.'

By Hasywell

One dog and her kingdom!

<KENOX S630 / Samsung S630>
This picture kind of somes up our walks today, where you had to just keep stopping to admire the surroundings and the clear blue sky. Millie obviously felt the need to stop and survey her kingdom this morning! In the picture you can see Dartmoor in the distance. Living on one of the highest points in the South Hams means that I have uninterrupted views of the countryside for miles around. On the horizon, I can see the sea stretching from around Kingswear through to Bigbury. I actually feel a bit of a fool, as I only realised the Bigbury section after 2 years of living when one day I happened to see a big ship seemingly floating in the sky! My only excuse was that I didn't venture into that field much before I had the dogs! then, in the other field I can see as far as Exeter on a clear day and have a very clear view of Haytor and the Beacon. As I am not overlooked, I don't ever close my curtains which means I have a living picture from my bedroom window that changes day to day and season to season. I love waking up, in the summer months, with the natural daylight and just looking out on the world. Often, on clear days when the conditions are right, there will be several hot air balloons framed by the moors.

This was written during one evening when out of nowhere a red air balloon appeared:

Eve Dreams

Silently, she eve dreams at the window absorbing gently rolling fields,
Like a sea of mottled green.
The striking darkness of the moors meander across the distant horizon;
A ray of light releasing a brief reminder of hope.
Billowing clouds of ever changing faces and memories sweep closer
Bursting to share tales of times gone by.
Through the evening song hedgerows willingly reveal her inner thoughts;
Of which few rarely stop to hear or understand.

Out of nowhere, wisdom, like a ghost appears.
Gracefully in command of the dusk it mirrors the anticipation of fresh experiences,
Whilst capturing hushed wished of a future previously unspoken.
Breath quickening, as the burning flame draws closer,
Wisdom beckons her healing heart to soar and glide once more,
Safe in the knowledge that the past has truly been left behind.
With a silent whisper, wisdom vanishes into that sea of mottled green,
Leaving behind it the deep red lustrous haze of her nurtured dreams.

HS

Well had better not write much more ;-) so:

Three beautiful things:
One: Driving into school this morning - the clear blue skies and crisp air meant I could see for miles, and as I was driving down into the valley on the bridge over the tidal, I was surrounded of a blanket of mist and it was just so peaceful. One of these days I will have an accident as it is so narrow on the bridge and I just want to look up and down the river! I might have to start parking at one end and walk the remaining mile just to experience the views!
Two: Bacon and Egg sandwich - on my return from school after finally sorting out the last two areas that needed to be reorganised and the clutter thrown away (a definite theme between home and school going on here) I treated myself to a home cooked bacon and egg sandwich - made even better by the friendly service at the local garage where I got the bacon from.
Three: A doggy hug - Jem (the Spaniel Mix) is hilarious and just so affectionate. The hardest thing about living far away from your family and being single is that you miss the hugs. Well Jem has solved that problem as she will quite literally give you a 'hug' complete with paws on your shoulders and an ear lick! It never fails to make me laugh!

Two things to be grateful for:
My two beautiful nieces.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.