Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Birthday Dinner!

So, tonight was, I believe, the penultimate part of my (admittedly quite long-lasting) 40th birthday! Since the Wonderspouse is also 40 this year, we're kind of making a year of it and not restricting it to the actual days themselves! Mine started back in June, when the little rat-men moved in, and is scheduled to finish tomorrow!

Tonight we went out for the dinner my stepmum had bought us with a voucher. It was a very pleasant meal - although we were jolly glad we weren't paying given what it would have cost if we were. The only thing we DID pay for, slightly surreally, was a poster with fish on - the Wonderspouse went to the gents and came back saying there was a really cool fish poster up with names of fishes in loads of languages. I immediately popped off to the ladies and discovered likewise - there was a note up saying we could buy one, and the temptation was too much to resist!

Now I have to find a bit of wall, which, in our house, is quite a challenge - we don't do bare walls - almost every inch is covered with something or other!

In the earlier part of the day I'd sorted out some of my colleagues from the CELTA course who were unsure about assignment deadlines (by knowing them myself, and by e-mailing our tutor to check), played with the small pets, and started to wade through my accounts and jobs lists. I also completely updated my jobs lists, since they were getting rather out of date!

Then it was off to the second music workshop of the week. This time we had 12 people, who all seemed to have a good time, including a lady who came and played the keyboard with me. Again, like last time, the recovery week seems to have been a great success, and it does feel good to have been part of it (even just a small one) and to be able to give something back to some of the people who helped me so much when I was so ill.

Afterwards I went into town to do a few bits at the bank, call at the pet shop in the Covered Market (where a particular type of rat food that Charlie and Moses really like is sold, and where I picked up the hamster equivalent to see if it's popular with Laura), then I ambled back to the Wonderspouse's office and picked him up to go out for dinner!

Please note: I DEFINITELY took the Wonderspouse out for dinner, nobody else. However, when the photos came out, it seems that I'd spent the evening with some sort of beast. I was slightly concerned that my blips may have been tampered with, and then I noticed that this is blip number 666. Other blippers BEWARE: if you've already passed 666, then check to see whether you've had beastly visitation, and if you're yet to reach it, do take care!!! ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.