Robin at large

By Robin

Footdee or Fittie

Today is very overcast, quite a change from yesterday. Cold as well. While I was out it started to rain quite heavily.

The photo shows a row of houses in Fittie. The official name according to the Council is Footdee, however the unofficial name is historically closer to what it was originally called.

This is the old fishing village of Aberdeen. It is right next to the entrance to the harbour. No fishing or fishermen there now, though there might be somebody who works on the supply boats. The village looks in on itself, away from the wind from the sea, and is very picturesque. Although this was originally a very poor area when the houses were built, I can see these becoming quite sought after, if they are not already much in demand.

This is a very photogenic area, and no doubt I shall return in a future post. I couldn't make my mind up whether to use the colour original or another vintage look. So I have cheated and used both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.