earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Cloud Miscellany

I was planning to run the Great Whernside fell race this morning but I was getting messages from my body first thing that this probably wasn't a good idea. I never used to listen to these signals but, with the wisdom of some considerable experience, I do take heed of them these days. My body often knows better than my head! As a result I was able to enjoy a run on the moor this morning without any pressure of time. People take the mickey out of me when I tell them I'm slowing down, but I really am! It was such a joy to just meander around my favourite trails through the bracken, now being released back to me after the summer flourishing when they become virtually impassable.

I might have been more tempted to race if it wasn't for the sky this morning. I've always loved a good sky, but since starting to blip I have become much more sensitive to every nuance of the canvas upon which most of my photography depends. One look out of the window this morning and I sensed that this was a truly photogenic sky, full of great textures. There was simply every kind of cloud you could think of on display. It was if they had all been assembled for some kind of roll call!

So today was a day when the sky was never going to be incidental to the photograph. I was running around looking for a suitable foreground to showcase the amazing cloud formations. This was the best of a pretty good bunch. I hope it captures some sense of the drama for you.

Unfortunately, I've had to spend most of the day since then working. The last few tweaks on the new software have taken me ages to sort out. But it's almost there, and I'm now beginning to feel quite proud of my latest creation! That's not a bad feeling I guess. I shouldn't complain too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.