Soporific Swan

I thought some colour was needed after yesterday's rather bleak and desolate blip. I took some arty shots of rubbish floating on the canal against perfect industrial reflections but today has been grim enough without seeking out more. I'm off to Rotterdam tomorrow for 3 days and I don't seem to have put much of a dent in what needs to be done to be ready. Once again, I'm going to have to blip and run.

The pair of swans that I blipped last year have not been in evidence so much this summer, but they turned up today close to the spot they used to frequent quite regularly. Two cygnets survived from three last time around. I don't know how many babies there were this season but certainly only one survived for long. Junior was in the water, looking very fine indeed, his juvenile plumage disappearing fast. Mum and Dad were extremely sleepy. It may be that they remember me for this morning they were quite untroubled by my presence, opening their eyes to check me out and then closing them again, even when I had my camera in their face! I love the way they keep their beaks warm. I suppose even swans don't like a cold nose!

OK. Off to grab a bite to eat and then head down for the final push. Wish me luck and have a lovely evening you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.