Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

100 blips and still no idea where I'm going!

I have a bit of a confession (don't get too excited - it's not that interesting!);

I didn't even enjoy photography before I joined the Mighty Blip. I'd find getting the camera out a bit of a chore and more often than not, even though I visited some spectacular places with stunning scenery, I'd load up the photo's and invariably be disappointed with the dull depiction of a fantastic day.

I'd seen Blipfoto crop up here and there on Twitter. (I'm on as paulfenechsoler if you want to follow - but I hardly ever tweet since Blip took over everything). I mainly saw blips from sgwarnog and yearofhappy who are both local and both very interesting Blippers.

So I signed up and then went on holiday and forgot about it for 4 weeks before posting my first blip.

I signed up because I thought I *should* be taking better photographs and having turned 40 this year I wanted to keep a better record of things I did. Time slips by so quickly if you don't keep an eye on it!

I'm so glad I did!

Firstly it's a great community. There's people here who are *awesome* at their art and there are others who could blip a sock and still make it entertaining. I've met a lot of great people here in the 100 days and got to know them through their photo's and write ups, often not knowing anything else about them. In some cases how old they are, or even of they're male or female! But I feel like I know them anyway.

Secondly there's the new challenge in my life. On the surface of it simple, to take a photo a day. It *is* simple. I could buy a bag of Brussel Sprouts and blip one a day until they run out or go mouldy, and then move on to tic-tacs. Nooo problemo! But it isn't.... as you start to meet more people and make friends, you start to care what they think about your blip. You can detect when there's a polite 'I see what you were trying to do there...' , or a truly complimentary comment. It's now become important to me to try and create something I like and that I hope other people will like. Within the constraints of my experience and photographic equipment I hope I've improved a bit. I don't like to blip for the sake of it but I want to blip everyday. I love it.

Thirdly I love the writing. I ramble.... oh boy do I ramble! I'm amazed that anyone ever gets to the end of my random streams of consciousness. But I know that in time to come, when the old brain starts to forget what day it is and odd socks become the norm, I'll have something to remember myself by!

D'you know I really did have a fourth but it's gone....

Thanks for listening and thanks for your comments that have kept me Blipping the Mighty Blip.

:o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.