simplicity

the key to finding a happy balance in modern life is simplicity...

Long day. Good day. I love these flowers. Thanks to BJ and Firas, I remembered how much I love having flowers blooming in my apartment. Talk about a day-brightener...
So these are my "fall harvest" flowers. The colors are so beautiful...
I have to be honest. I am so happy that this is the last day of October. Sorry, but it's been a real drag. September was better.. but November will be stellar. I know it. It simply has to be.
And, according to my friend Don's FB status earlier today... only 7 more weeks of my first semester of medical school! 7 weeks until Christmas break. 7 weeks until I will be on a beach in Mexico (or, near one at the very least). 7 weeks until...

Focusing on the positive things around me. Trying to avoid negativity. It's so contagious, I really don't want to catch it. There is so much complaining going around lately. It's everywhere.. I think that's one reason that I've been trying to exhibit a little bit of self control and not be on facebook as much. That's just a breeding ground for discontent.

remember the view

What does that mean? To me... it means remember the mountain top view. Remember that it's worth it when you get to go back to see it. Remember that these valleys that seem endless are anything but endless. Remember that my outlook is my choice. Every damn day. I can choose to allow things to make me happy. And that is the choice I want.
This path that I have chosen to take is difficult. It's stressful. It can be lonely. But I don't have to go it alone. We're all in this together and we're stronger when we are together. Geez. This has turned lame so fast, I don't even know where to go from here. But I think it'll be good to look back on it and read it for myself though. Even though this month has been emotionally, physically, mentally, intellectually and spiritually challenging.. this is not the hardest thing I will experience in my life.

"I'm not telling you it's going to be easy... I'm telling you it's going to be worth it."

Going to my happy place. If you need me, I'll be amidst my pillows dreaming about 7 weeks from now and the adventures I can go on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.