a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

My girl

This is my cat Gammie. I got her about 15 years ago from a vet that took her in after someone brought her to his office when she was about a year and a half old. She wasn't eating, her fur just hung off of her small frame. After deciding to adopt her, it was determined that she was actually pregnant and that all of the kittens died inside of her.

She seemed to be abused by the previous owners, scared of anyone going near her. She only seemed comfortable with me and with my ex. If anyone else came into the house, she would run and hide and wouldn't come out until everyone was gone.

She quickly became healthy after being with us, filling out, and regaining her pretty brownish black coat.

She is now almost 17 years old, and now thinning out again and she has lost most of her hearing. She will only go near 3 people....me, Mark and Jack.

Jack has been spending a lot more time with her recently, always playing with her, petting her and talking to her. He is always giving her 'kisses and hugs'. He asked me the other day if she will die. I told him, "Yes, she will die, she is getting older. But we gave her a happy home and love her very much and she is happy." He smiled and said, "I love her."

This is Gammie by the front door today, enjoying the warmth of the sun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.